May and June Beauty Favorites

photo (1)
I came across a few beauty items these past two months that I’ve found to work very well, the majority of them being very affordable so I thought I’d make a post about them. photo (6)
photo (3)
The firsts are my Jordana “Easyliner” retractable eyeliners in “black” and “denim blue”. My Lancome Le Crayon Khol eyeliners were getting low, and I thought I’d try the Jordanas for a change. I’ve been using the Lancome eyeliners for a few years now and they worked perfectly and are of great quality at $26 a pop; they were very smooth and creamy when applied. The Jordana eyeliners obviously cannot compare to the quality of Lancome products, being that they are a drugstore brand and only $1.99 per liner, but I love them anyway because…who can beat $1.99?! Of course, I still love the Lancome eyeliners (Lancome is probably my favorite beauty brand) but I think the Jordana liners work just fine.
photo (7)
photo (8)
Originally I wasn’t much of a fan of Revlon’s Grow Luscious mascara. I’ve had the mascara for a while now and my first impression of it was that it wasn’t anything special. I don’t know what came over me these past few months but I’ve grown a liking to this product. Drugstore mascara in general, in my opinion, can work just as well as high-end ones. I’ve used high end ones from Estee Lauder, Clinque, Guerlain, and many, many Lancome mascaras as well as drugstore ones from Maybelline, Revlon, and L’Oreal mascaras. This one in particular gives me a good amount of length as well as volume and does not easily clump. Additionally, it holds a curl quite well, which is beneficial for someone like me who has straight lashes and needs to curl them with an eyelash curler.
photo (2)photo (4)
photo (5)
Lancome’s DreamTone has been a life saver for my skin lately. It’s labeled as “ultimate dark spot corrector” and “beautiful skin tone creator” according to its packaging. Having Asian skin means that any acne I get will most likely scar and take forever to fade away. Pairing that with the stress of college classes equals me being very frustrated with the acne scars that want to live permanently on my skin. This tinted serum has really done a great job at speeding up the process of any scaring and hyper pigmentation as well as improving the overall appearance of my skin. There are three options for this product: 1-Fair Skin Tone, 2-Medium Skin Tone, and 3-Dark Skin Tone. When asking for this serum, the lady at the Lancome counter gave the the second option: medium. I obviously do not have a medium skin tone, haha. However, the sales associate assured me that the second option is a great, universal option for everyone whether they are light or dark. The medium skin tone serum promises to target dark spots, uneven skin tone and sallowness, all of which I think have been treated ever since I started using it.
As I’ve mentioned before and as the picture shows, this serum is slightly tinted to a rosy/pink color that is just a bit pearly in appearance. This helps with creating glowing skin immediately when applied. It also tans my skin just slightly to one shade which could be a pro or con depending on those who prefer tan or fair skin-personally, I don’t mind in the slightest.
The only negative thing I can say about this product is the packaging. The only way to access the serum is by twisting the top to pump the product out. There is absolutely no way to completely open the cap to look inside the jar. That and the fact that the jar is opaque, although beautifully designed, means I can never see how much product I have left and any leftover product stuck at the bottom or sides of the jar is completely inaccessible and wasted. At $98, I definitely did not like this fact.
photo (14)
The Neutrogena Rapid Clear Acne Eliminating Spot Gel has also been a major life saver for my skin these past few months. I apply this at least twice a day, once in the morning, and once at night before bed, only to the areas needed and I’ve noticed a great improvement. As promised, it does quickly eliminate the size and appearance of acne. I’ve noticed that the earlier I apply this product onto a developing pimple, the faster the pimple fades. I’ve had some instances where I apply it onto a blemish that has just appeared on my face and the next day it’s completely gone. Containing 2% salicylic acid, this spot treatment can be drying to the area you apply to, but it’s nothing too serious and the problem can be quickly solved with a little bit of moisturizer.
photo (10)
photo (15)
The Body Shop’s Strawberry Body Butter has been my favorite body butter for these past months. As you can see, I’ve used a bit of it. It’s thick in consistency and very moisturizing to my skin! It smells wonderful. The smell, I would describe as very light and not a typical strawberry smell. When I first got it, I thought it smelled slightly like strawberry flavored bubble gum. Regardless, it does its job very well.
photo (12)
Last but not least is Garnier Fructis’s De-Constructed Beach Chic texturizing spray. I use this when I want to had texture to my straight hair, especially on days where I’ve just washed my hair to create a slightly messy look. Although the bottle says it will create loose, textured, beach waves, I know for a fact that will not work on me because of my naturally straight, Asian hair (nothing will, oh well). Still, I think this is a great product. I use it when I want to create messy updos and top knots. I’ve learned the hard way to never spray this towards the roots of my hair, because it will just cause my roots to become very greasy and no one wants that.

Wow! This is the longest post I have ever made. Thanks for sticking out to the end. I hope I didn’t bore you too much. Thanks for reading! (:

Have a great evening!
-Lyly

Leave a Reply

